The prestigious European Commercial Marine Awards (ECMAs) attract entries from across Europe, recognising the depth of excellence in the commercial marine industry. The ECMAs celebrate outstanding innovations from the companies and individuals that comprise this vibrant and productive industry sector.

Judged by a panel of industry experts and chaired by the editor of Maritime Journal, the ECMAs are presented at the awards evening on the opening day of Seawork, Tuesday 11 June 2024.

The ceremony is held on-site in Seawork’s spectacular Waterfront restaurant, sponsored by Siemens Financial Services, overlooking the Seawork Marina. Following welcome drinks and canapes, the evening will see the presentation of the coveted European Commercial Marine

There are two ways to enter the ECM Awards:

1) To enter the Innovation Awards, use the button below.
Your entry will be displayed on the Innovations Showcase, providing a stage for the latest in equipment, services, projects and vessels in the
commercial marine industry.

2) Nominate a Person, Project or Company or enter your own by clicking nominate below.


The ECMAs provide an opportunity for exhibitors to showcase their originality, ability to problem solve and make a real difference to the industry with the latest in design and ingenuity.

Anyone who is a Seawork or Marine Civils exhibitor, or one of their employees, can enter or be nominated.

The 2024 categories are.


Vessel Design & Construction
Marine Power & Propulsion
Electronic & Electrical Systems - NEW
Safety & Training
Navigation & Communication - NEW
Underwater Intervention (Diving & Underwater Technology)
Autonomy - NEW
Environmental / Renewable Energy- NEW
Marine Equipment & Materials
Deck equipment - NEW


Marine Civils Best Project
Maritime Sustainability
Young Person's Development
Maritime Professional of the Year
Lifetime Achievement

All Innovation Awards entries are displayed on the Innovations Showcase in a prominent location at Seawork and are displayed on the website prior to the event and for several months post event. This gives businesses the ability to get their innovations fast-tracked to the forefront of the marine industry.

The high level of innovation and cutting-edge technology is a must-see for all visitors and exhibitors at Seawork, each entry will be seen by a wide audience of over 7,200 marine professionals.

Each category winner receives an ECMA Innovation Award and Certificate of Commendation, with the overall winner presented with the coveted “Spirit of Innovation” trophy at the ECMA ceremony.

There are just 2 rules to qualify an entry:
  • The equipment, service, project or vessel (entry) must have been released to market in the period since the last Seawork (13th-15th June 2023).
  • The entry must be innovative (not simply a product enhancement)

If you have an entry that fits both of the above criteria and want to showcase it to the key industry professionals, then make sure you enter the Innovation Awards.

Entry for Seawork and Marine Civils Exhibitors is free, Non-exhibitors will be subject to an entry fee of £520.

The deadline for entries is Friday 24th May 2024.

*Categories stated above are subject to removal if no entries are submitted.


The judging panel for the European Commercial Marine Awards reflects the breadth and expertise of the maritime industry. The panel also share a unified commitment towards the growth and success of the industry. The European Commercial Marine Awards 2023 Judges were:
  • Andrew Webster
  • Debbie Mason
  • Ian Cooke
  • Peter Crosland
  • Jake Frith
  • Kerrie Forster
  • Tom Chant
  • Martin WIllis
  • Taira Caton

2024 Judges to be announced



Processing. Please wait.